Vingtieme livre de chansons à quatre et cinq parties d'Orlande de Lassus et autres.


Collection of chansons in four, five and six parts, by Lassus and others.


Standardised TitleVingtieme livre de chansons à quatre et cinq parties d'Orlande de Lassus et autres.
Transcribed TitleVINGTIEME LIVRE / DE CHANSONS / à quatre & cinq parties / D'orlande de lassus / & autres. / Imprimé en quatre volumes.
ImprintA PARIS. / Par Adrian le Roy, & Robert Ballard, / Imprimeurs du Roy. / AVEC PRIVILEGE DE SA / MAGESTE. / 1569
FormatCopy at K.11.e.3.(20.). Superius (16 leaves), Tenor (16 leaves), Bassus (16 leaves); original foliation: [1], 2-16 f. in each part book; paper dimensions: 90 x 130 mm.
PlaceParis, France
SubjectPolyphonic chansons
LanguageFrench; Latin
TypePrinted music

British Library K.11.e.3.(20.)

Related Resource

François Lesure and Geneviève Thibault, Bibliographie des Éditions d’Adrian Le Roy et Robert Ballard (1551-1598) (Paris: Société Française de Musicologie, 1955), no. 138.


RISM B/I, 156917

Persistent URL for this page:

Citation guide

Users who wish to cite this page or the attached digital object in publications should cite the persistent URL and the date on which the website was consulted.


Click 'View Music' above to turn the pages of this digitised book online.  See below for a PDF file you can save to your computer and print.

All are four-part works except for the last four, of which the first three are in five parts and the last one in six.

With a table of contents at the end.

The second tenor part for Lasso’s ’Au tems jadis’ is found in the superius part book; the second tenor part for Lasso’s ’J’attends le tems’ is in the bassus part book, and the second superius part of Lasso’s ’Nunc gaudere licet’ is in the bassus part book.

Copy at K.11.e.3.(20.). Lacking the contratenor part book. With MS ownership inscription at end of superius part book ’ce liure / ce liure / Apartient a Madam / La Contesse De Tilleres’. Also with the bookplate of Alfred Cortot and former reference number ’59 MVP’.

Indexed names

Millot, Nicolas composer. 
Costeley, Guillaume, 1530?-1606, composer. 
La Grotte, Nicolas de, 1530-ca. 1600, composer. 
Petit Jehan, Claude, composer. 
Briault, composer. 
Berçoy, composer. 
Lasso, Orlando di, 1532-1594, composer. 
Le Roy, Adrian, ca. 1520-1598, printer. 
Ballard, Robert, printer. 
Cortot, Alfred, 1877-1962, former owner. 
Adrian Le Roy & Robert Ballard (Firm) 

Table of Contents

He que volez vous dire / Millot -- Ma mignonne baisez moy / Millot -- Dittes maitresse he que vous ay-je fait / Millot -- L’autrier priay de danser / Costelay -- Vivons mignarde en noz amours / N. la Grotte -- Quand le berger vit la bergere / Costelay -- Ennuy plaisir joye tristesse / Millot -- Je suis devenu amoureux depuis trois mois / Petit Jehan -- Tais toy babillarde Arondelle / Briault -- Je te preste ma cheminée / Briault -- Dialogue de L’amant & Canon. / Hola Caron / Berçoy -- A ce joly matinet / Costelay -- Je n’ay plaisir si non en ta presence / Costelay - O ma belle maitresse / Millot - J’attens le tems / Orlande -- Ardent amour souvent me fait instance / Orlande -- Au tems jadis / Orlande -- Nunc gaudere licet / Orlande.

Links to resources