Il quarto libro di madrigali à cinque voci di Benedetto Pallavicino.


Collection of madrigals in five parts (SSATB, SAATB, SATTB).


Standardised TitleIl quarto libro di madrigali à cinque voci di Benedetto Pallavicino.
Transcribed TitleDI BENEDETTO PALLAVICINO / MAESTRO DI CAPELLE DEL SERENISSIMO / SIGNOR DVCA DI MANTVA / Il Quarto Libro di Madrigali à Cinque Voci / Nouamente Ristampato.
ImprintIn Venetia Appresso Angelo Gardano / M.D.LXXXXVI.
FormatCopy at K.1.c.30. Canto (14 leaves), Quinto (14 leaves), Alto (14 leaves), Tenore (14 leaves), Basso (14 leaves); original pagination: Canto: [i-ii],1 – 26 p. Quinto: [i-ii],1 – 25, [26] p. Alto: [i-ii],1 – 26 p. Tenore: [i-ii],1 – 25 p. Basso: [i-ii],1 – 25, [26] p.; paper dimensions: 150 x 202 mm.
PlaceVenice, Italy
SubjectMadrigals, Italian
TypePrinted music

British Library K.1.c.30.

Related Resource

Flanders, Peter. Thematic index to the works of Benedetto Pallavicino. Hackensack, N.J. J. Boonin, 1974. (Music indexes and bibliographies, no.11).

Pallavicino, Benedetto. Opera omnia; ediderunt Peter Flanders, Kathryn Bosi Monteath. II, Il terzo libro de madrigali a cinque voci, 1585 ; Il quarto libro de madrigali a cinque voci, 1588 / [edited by] Kathryn Bosi Monteath. Neuhausen : American Institute of Musicology : Hänssler-Verlag, 1983. (Corpus mensurabilis musicae ; 89). 


RISM B/I, 159616

Persistent URL for this page:

Citation guide

Users who wish to cite this page or the attached digital object in publications should cite the persistent URL and the date on which the website was consulted.


Click 'View Music' above to turn the pages of this digitised book online.  See below for a PDF file you can save to your computer and print.

Transcribed title page from canto part book.

With table of contents at end of each part book.

Five-part madrigals by Pallavicino, and one (no.15) by Alfonso Preti. Nos. 9, 12 and 19 are in two sections.

Dedication to Vincenzo Gonzaga, Duke of Mantua from Pallavicino on verso of title page in each part book.

Copy at K.1.c.30. Handwritten annotation at head of no.17 in canto part-book: ’Pub. his first book of Madrigals in 1587.’

Indexed names

Gardano, Angelo, 1540-1611, printer. 
Pallavicino, Benedetto, ca. 1551-1601, composer. 
Preti, Alfonso, fl. 1586-92, composer. 
Vincenzo I Gonzaga, Duke of Mantua, 1562-1612, dedicatee.

Table of Contents

Mentre che di qui d’intorno / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Si mi dicesti ed’io / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Non mirar no[n] mirare / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Non mi ferir piu amore / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Tutt’eri foco amore quand’arsi prima / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Ben è ragion ch’io t’ami / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Arte mi siano i crini / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Con che soavità labbia odorate / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Filli cara & amata. (Risposta: Dunque Aminta mio caro) / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Hor liet’il pesce / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Se voi sete il mio core / Benedetto Pallavicino -- La tua car’Amarilli (Seconda parte: Rispose egli piu rara) / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Hor ch’a la bella Clori / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Giunto che m’hebb’amor / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Tra mille fior già colti in dolce speco / Alfonso Preti -- Occhi un tempo mia vita / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Arsi piansi e cantai / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Perfida pur potesti / Benedetto Pallavicino -- Passa la nave tua che porta. (Seconda parte: Nebbia no[n] lenta mai di feri sdegni) / Benedetto Pallavicino. 

Links to resources