Il quarto libro di madrigali d’Archadelt, a quattro voci, composti ultimamente insieme con alcuni madrigali d’altri auttori, novamente con ogni diligentia ristampati, & corretti.


Collection of madrigals in four parts (SATB), with an alphabetical table of contents at end of each part book.


Standardised TitleIl quarto libro di madrigali d’Archadelt, a quattro voci, composti ultimamente insieme con alcuni madrigali d’altri auttori, novamente con ogni diligentia ristampati, & corretti.
Transcribed TitleIL QVARTO LIBRO DI MADRIGALI D’ARCHA- / delt, a Quattro Voci, Composti vltimamente insieme con alcuni Madrigali d’altri aut- / tori, Nouamente con ogni diligentia ristampati, & corretti.
ImprintM. D. XXXXI. / NON SINE PRIVILEGIO. / Excudebat Venetiis, apud Antonium Gardane. Quarto libro d’Archadelt.
FormatCopy at K.2.h.6. Cantus (20 leaves; [1], 2-39, [40] p.), Altus (20 leaves; [1], 2-39, [40] p.), Tenor (20 leaves; [1], 2-7, [8], 9-39, [40] p.), Bassus (20 leaves; [1], 6-7, 4-5, 2-3, 8-39, [40] p.); paper dimensions: 147 x 207 mm.
PlaceVenice, Italy
TypePrinted music

British Library K.2.h.6

Related Resource

M.S. Lewis: Antonio Gardano, Venetian Music Printer 1538–1569: a Descriptive Bibliography and Historical Study (New York, 1988–97), no. 19.

John Milsom, ’The Nonsuch Music Library’, in Chris Banks, Arthur Searle and Malcolm Turner (eds.), Sundry Sorts of Music Books: Essays on The British Library Collections, Presented to O. W. Neighbour on his 70th Birthday (London, 1993), 146-82, no. 10. 


RISM B/I, 154112

Persistent URL for this page:

Citation guide

Users who wish to cite this page or the attached digital object in publications should cite the persistent URL and the date on which the website was consulted.



Click 'View Music' above to turn the pages of this digitised book online.  See below for a PDF file you can save to your computer and print.

Later edition of RISM 153924, with a few different attributions.

Copy at K.2.h.6. From the Lumley Library.

Indexed names

Arcadelt, Jacob, ca. 1505-1568, composer.
Berchem, Jachet de, 16th cent., composer. 
Corteccia, Francesco, 1502-1571, composer. 
Layolle, Francesco de, 1492-ca. 1540, composer. 
Morales, Cristo´bal de, ca. 1500-1553, composer. 
Barry, Ivo, composer. 
Festa, Costanzo, d. 1545, composer. 
Gardane, Antonio, 1509-1569, printer. 
Lumley, John Lumley, Baron, 1534?-1609, former owner. 
Arundel, Henry Fitz Alan, Earl of, 1512-1580, former owner. 
Gardane (Firm)

Table of Contents

Gli prieghi mei / Archadelt -- Altro no[n] e’ l mi’amor / Iachet Berchem -- Amor quanto piu lieto / Archadelt -- Giurando’ l dissi amore / Archadelt -- Tenga[n] dunque ver me / Archadelt -- Mado[n]na oime ch’io ardo / Archadelt -- Sio no[n] lodo mado[n]na / Archadelt -- Viddi fra l’herbe verde / Archadelt -- Donna i vostri begliocchi / Archadelt -- Quando i vostri begli occhi / Archadelt -- Donna quel fidel seruo / Franc. Corteccia -- Quest’e la fede amanti / Archadelt -- Hor ved’amor che giouenetta / Archadelt -- Donna grau’e la doglia / Archadelt -- Dolcemente s’adira la donna mia / Archadelt - Lasso che gioua poi / Archadelt -- Io nol dissi giamai / Archadelt -- Io son tal volta donna / Archadelt -- Dolce nimica mia / Archadelt -- Madonna per oltraggi’o / Archadelt -- Donna fra piu bei volti / Archadelt - Tronchi la parcha ogn’hora / Archadelt -- Quanto piu di lasciar / Archadelt -- Deh fuss’il ver / Archadelt -- Come potro fidarmi / Archadelt -- Donna s’ogni beltade / Archadelt - Se contra vostra voglia / Archadelt -- Sel foc’in cui se[m]pr’ardo / Archadelt -- Si grand’e la pieta / Archadelt -- Apri’ l mio dolce carcer / - Dal bel soaue ragio / Layole -- Ditimi o si, o no / Morales -- Ardenti miei desiri / Archadelt -- Qual senza mot’ & senza razz’el sole / Archadelt -- Col pe[n]sier mai no[n] maculai / Archadelt -- Sera forsi ripreso / Archadelt -- Calde lagrime mie / Petrus Organista -- Pace non trovo / You -- Cosi soav’el fuoco / Con. Festa.

Links to resources