Thomas Watson: The first set of Italian madrigals Englished.


Collection of Italian madrigals in four to six parts, with new English texts.


Standardised TitleThomas Watson: The first set of Italian madrigals Englished.
Transcribed TitleTranscribed title page from Superius part book: The first sett, / Of Italian Madrigalls Englished, / not to the sense of the originall dittie, / but after the affection of the / Noate. / By Thomas Watson Gentleman. / There are also heere inserted two excellent / Madrigalls of Master VVilliam / Byrds, composed after the / Italian vaine, at the request / of the sayd Thomas / Watson.
ImprintImprinted at London by Thomas Este, the assigné of William Byrd, & are to be sold at the house of the sayd T. Este, being in Aldersgate street, at the signe of the black Horse. 1590.
FormatCopy at K.3.k.12. SVPERIVS (16 leaves); MEDIVS (12 leaves); TENOR (16 leaves); CONTRATENOR (16 leaves); BASSVS (16 leaves); SEXTVS (6 leaves); paper dimensions: 206 x 147 mm.
PlaceLondon, England
SubjectMadrigals, English
TypePrinted music

British Library K.3.k.12.


RISM B/I, 159029

Persistent URL for this page:

Citation guide

Users who wish to cite this page or the attached digital object in publications should cite the persistent URL and the date on which the website was consulted.


Click 'View Music' above to turn the pages of this digitised book online.  See below for a PDF file you can save to your computer and print.

With prefatory texts to each part; laudatory poem to Luca Marenzio by Thomas Watson; dedication to Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex; and a table of contents.

Indexed names

Thomas Watson 1557?-1592, author.
William Byrd 1539 or 40-1623, composer.
Thomas East 1540?-1608?, printer.
Robert Devereux Essex Earl of, 1566-1601, dedicatee.
Luca Marenzio 1553-1599, composer.
Alessandro Striggio 1536 or 7-1592, composer.
Girolamo Conversi fl. 1571-1575, composer.
Giovanni Maria Nanino 1543 or 4-1607, composer.

Table of Contents

When first my heedles eyes beheld w[ith] pleasure / Luca Marenzio -- O merry world when every lover with his mate / Luca Marenzio -- Farewell cruell & unkind / Luca Marenzio -- Zephyrus breathing, now calls nymfs fro[m] out their bowres / Luca Marenzio -- Faire shepherds Queene, let us hand in hand inchained / Luca Marenzio -- Every singing bird yt in ye wood rejoyces / Luca Marenzio -- Alas, what a wretched life is this? / Luca Marenzio -- This sweet & merry month of May / William Byrd -- Though faint & wasted / Luca Marenzio -- Since my heedlesse eies began to be ranging / Luca Marenzio -- When all alone my bony love / Giro Converso -- When I beheld the faire face of Phyllis sleeping / Luca Marenzio -- Alas, where is my love / Luca Marenzio -- Sweet hart arise that we may take our pleasure / Luca Marenzio -- But if the countrie Gods seeke to surround thee / Luca Marenzio -- When fro[m] my selfe sweet Cupid first bereft me / Luca Marenzio -- Sweet singing Amarillis / Luca Marenzio -- Fancy retyre thee / Luca Marenzio -- How long with vaine complayning / Luca Marenzio -- All yee that joy in wayling / Giov. Maria Nanino -- O heare me heave[n]ly powrs all at one calling / Luca Marenzio -- In chaynes of hope and feare / Luca Marenzio -- When Meliboeus soul flying he[n]ce departed / Luca Marenzio -- Now twinkling starres do smile / (the second part) Luca Marenzio -- Unkind o stay thy flying / Luca Marenzio -- Love hath proclamed warre by Trumpet sounded / Alessandro Striggio -- The fates alas too cruell / Luca Marenzio -- This sweet and merry month of May / William Byrd.

Links to resources