Madrigals to five voices, selected out of the best approved Italian authors by Thomas Morley.


Collection of madrigals in five parts, with English texts.


Standardised TitleMadrigals to five voices, selected out of the best approved Italian authors by Thomas Morley.
Transcribed TitleMADRIGALS / TO / fiue voyces. / Celected out of the best approued / Italian Authors. / BY / Thomas Morley Gentleman / of hir Maiesties Royall / CHAPPELL.
ImprintAT LONDON / Printed by Thomas Este. / 1598.
FormatCopy at K.3.i.14. CANTVS (14 leaves), ALTVS (14 leaves), TENOR (14 leaves), BASSVS (14 leaves), QVINTVS (14 leaves); paper dimensions: 205 x 150 mm.
PlaceLondon, England
SubjectMadrigals, English; Madrigals, Italian
TypePrinted music

British Library K.3.i.14.  Description of source in British Library catalogue

Related Resource

Jeremy Smith, Thomas East and Music Publishing in Renaissance England (Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2003), Appendix 4, No. 30.


RISM B/I, 159815

Persistent URL for this page:

Citation guide

Users who wish to cite this page or the attached digital object in publications should cite the persistent URL and the date on which the website was consulted.


Click 'View Music' above to turn the pages of this digitised book online.  See below for a PDF file you can save to your computer and print.

The Bassus part book ascribes 'I languish to complaine mee' to 'Rugiero Giovanelli' above the music.

Copy at K.3.i.14. The name 'Conyers D’arcy' is written on the front cover of all part books.

Indexed names

Morley, Thomas, 1557-1603?, editor. 
East, Thomas, 1540?-1608?, printer. 
Clifton, Gervase, Sir, ca. 1579-1618, dedicatee. 
Belli, Giulio, ca. 1560-1621?, composer. 
Ferrabosco, Alfonso, 1543-1588, composer. 
Ferretti, Giovanni, b. ca. 1540, composer. 
Giovannelli, Ruggiero, ca. 1560-1625, composer. 
Macque, Giovanni de, ca. 1550-1614, composer. 
Marenzio, Luca, 1553-1599, composer. 
Mosto, Giovanni Battista, d. 1596, composer. 
Orologio, Alessandro, ca. 1550-1633?, composer. 
Philips, Peter, 1561-1628, composer. 
Sabino, Ippolito, ca. 1550-1593, composer. 
Vecchi, Orazio, 1550-1605, composer. 
Venturi del Nibbio, Stefano, fl. 1592-1600, composer. 
Darcy, Conyers Darcy, Baron, 1570-1654, former owner.

Table of Contents

Such pleasant boughs the world yet never vewed / Alfonso Ferabosco -- Sweetly pleasing singest thou, lovely sheperdis / Battista Mosto -- I thinck that if the hills, the plaines and mountaines / Alfonso Ferabosco -- Come lovers foorth, addresse you to admyer / Giovanni Feretti -- Loe Ladies where my love comes / Rugiero Giovanelli -- As I walked in greene Forrest / Rugiero Giovanelli -- Delay breeds daunger, and how may that bee wrested / Rugiero Giovanelli -- My Lady still adhors mee / Giovanni Feretti -- Doe not tremble but stand fast / Horacio Vechi -- Harke and give eare auctentive / Giulio Belli -- Life tell mee, what is the cause of each mans dying / Horacio Vechi -- Soden passions with strange & rare tormenting / Allessandro Orologio -- If silent, then grief torments mee / Alfonso Ferabosco -- O my loving sweet hart, leave of thy madnesse / Luca Marenzio -- I languish to complaine mee, with gastly griefe tormented / Alfonso Ferabosco -- Loe how my colour rangeth / Hippolito Sabino -- Thirsis on his faire Phillis brest reposing -- For verie griefe I dye / Rugiero Giovanelli -- The Nightingale that sweetly doth complayne (second part: O False deceit, who can himself assure) / Peter Phillips -- As Mopsus went his silly flock foorth leading / Stefano Venturi -- Flora faire Nimph whilst silly Lambs are feeding / Giovanni Feretti -- My sweet Layis, Lady mistres / Giovanni di Macque -- Say sweet Phillis, what thy will is / Alfonso Ferabosco.

Links to resources